Well, it’s a marvelous night for a moondance
With the stars up above in your eyes
A fantabulous night to make romance
‘Neath the cover of October skies
And all the leaves on the trees are falling
To the sound of the breezes that blow
And I’m trying to please to the calling
Of your heart-strings that play soft and low
And all the night’s magic seems to whisper and hush
And all the soft moonlight seems to shine in your blush

Can I just have one a’ more moondance with you, my love
Can I just make some more romance with a-you, my love

Well I wanna make love to you tonight
I can’t wait till the morning has come
And I know now the time is just right
And straight into my arms you will run
And when you come my heart will be waiting
To make sure that you’re never alone
There and then all my dreams will come true, dear
There and then I will make you my own
Anytime I touch you, you just tremble inside
And I know how much you want me that you can’t hide

Can I just have one more moondance with you, my love
Can I just make some more romance with a-you, my love

I just want one more moondance with you,
Yes I really do

 

These delightful lyrics in finger-snapping jazz rhythms performed by a sexy voice with a titillating attitude will either melt you or cause you to explode. But since the body matter does not allow for such actual physical occurrences, you instead fall in love.

johnoy2.jpg

The best thing is, you can do so on a regular basis: Thursday nights in 70s Bistro along Anonas St., Quezon City. This bar’s low-kilowatt signboard softly announces what reads like your niece’s favorite poetry: Johnoy and Kakoy.

 

Years and years ago, on the day you were cheering your third year of existence (and rhythmically nodding to hey, diddle diddle, the cat and the fiddle), a woman from a hospital somewhere was performing unpaid hard labor. Her baby boy’s first cry soothed her pain though she knew he might just be tipping off his remarkable singing talent.

 

with-johnoy.jpgThat you share the same birthday with Johnoy guarantees affinity that is both instantaneous and permanent. There is that interesting trivia that you will most likely not ever forget about the other, and will probably mention to your common acquaintances every chance you get.

As what happened on this particular Thursday night. After greeting each other, “Malapit na ang birthday natin”, you immediately turn to your friends and proclaim, “Magka-birthday kasi kami.”

A few verses into his opening song, you relish the natal coincidence even more. You are smug, almost. By the time he gives a rendition of Moondance, you are in trouble. Tragically. Because June 26 makes you think incest. Ewwww.

So maybe next time, you train your eyes on Kakoy and his passionate, magnificent guitar play. Or on Dan from Australia, and whoever’s jamming with the duo. Or on a stranger in another table. Or, you simply shut your eyes.

Because no matter the phase of the moon, Johnoy and Kakoy’s music will put you in the mood for delicious love.

* fotos courtesy of eula

